Sweet 16! Merchant Marine Earns 16th Straight Conference Crown at 2014 Landmark Championships

Sweet 16!  Merchant Marine Earns 16th Straight Conference Crown at 2014 Landmark Championships

Scranton, PA – Merchant Marine continued its dominance over Landmark Conference men's swimming and diving, scoring a record 950 points to claim the 2014 Landmark Conference Championship.  USMMA remains the only team to ever win the Landmark and picked up its 16th straight conference title.  The Mariners won 14 of the 20 events, shattering numerous records and reaching seven NCAA qualifying marks.

Kevin Lindgren (Palm City, FL) was named Landmark Conference Swimmer of the Year for a second straight season.  The junior won eight Landmark Confernece events, including relays, and reached three individual NCAA cuts.  Freshman Stone Hewitt (Destin, FL) also accounted for three individual NCAA "B" cuts as well as teaming with Lindgren and two teammates for a NCAA qualifying time in a relay.

William Porter (Houston, TX) earned his second consecutive Landmark Conference Diver of the Year accolades.  Head Coach Sean Tedesco and Diving Coach Johan Lopez were named the Landmark Conference Co-Coaching Staff of the Year.

Sunday Recap:

Kevin Lindgren (Palm City, FL) posted a superb swim in the 200 backstroke, finishing a whole six seconds under the NCAA "B" cut to win the event in 1:47.03.  Blair Roberts (South Jordan, UT) placed third in the event with a time of 1:55.08, bettering his preliminary time by 1.21 seconds.

Freshman Stone Hewitt (Destin, FL) took gold in the 200 breaststroke with a 2:04.93, clipping the NCAA "B" cut.  USMMA put three swimmers in the top-four of the event with Karl Sasse (Frederick, MD) and John Terselic (Tijera, NM) coming in third and fourth, respectively.

Austin Butt (Westminster, MD) was first in the 100 freestyle as he won by just one-tenth of a second, finishing in 47.31 seconds.  Alvaro Brice (The Woodlands, TX) was third in the race, .14 seconds behind his teammate.  Jordan Cripe (Monterey, CA) completed the mile swim in 16:33.00 as the sophomore took second-place.

The 2014 Landmark Conference Championships came to an end with the 400 freestyle relay team of Lindgren, Brice, Butt, and Joshua McCormick (Granite Bay, CA) taking first with a pool record of 3:05.89.

Saturday recap:

Freshman Stone Hewitt (Destin, FL) and Lindgren lit up the scoreboard and rewrote the record books on Saturday at the Landmark Conference Championships.  Hewitt was comfortably under the NCAA "B" cut and set new Academy, conference, meet, and pool, records as he won the 100 breaststroke in 55.91 seconds.

Lindgren claimed gold in the 100 backstroke with a blistering fast swim of 55.91 to establish a new meet and pool record that was just one second off the NCAA automatic "A" cut.  Both Lindgren and Hewitt were members of the 200 medley relay squad, along with Austin Butt (Westminster, MD) and Hunter Rowan (Matthews, NC) that broke the Academy record and also won a Landmark Conference title with a time of 1:33.37.

Alvaro Brice (The Woodlands, TX) touched first in the 200 freestyle as the 1:43.97 swim gave the sophomore an individual Landmark Conference crown.  Senior Joshua McCormick (Granite Bay, CA) took third in the race with a mark of 1:45.50.  The Mariners earned second and third in the 100 fly as William Kelsik (New Castle, IN) captured All-Landmark Second-Team honors with Rowan touching just .08 seconds behind for third.

William Porter (Houston, TX) completed his sweep of the diving events as the sophomore posted 464.10 points claim the 1-meter Landmark title for the second straight year.  The standings were identical to the 3-meter event as Mavity and Higgins rounded out a USMMA filled top-three.

The 800 freestyle relay contingent of McCormick, Brice, Butt, and Jordan Kendall (Winter Haven, FL) closed out day two of the championships with a 7:00.93 victory.  Merchant Marine headed into the final day of the 2014 Landmark Conference Championships with a 230 point lead over its nearest competition.

Friday Recap:

Merchant Marine stormed out of the gates at the 2014 Landmark Conference Championships, winning four of six events and meeting five NCAA qualifying standards.  In the first day of competition, USMMA set 12 new records en route to a 120 point lead less than one-third of the way through the competition.

Kevin Lindgren (Palm City, FL) smashed the NCAA "B" cut as he won the 200 IM with a new Academy, conference, meet, and pool record of 1:50.71.  The Mariners dominated the final of the 200 IM with five of the top eight finishers.  Freshman Austin Butt (Westminster, MD) claimed third-place as he touched in at 1:57.00.

Both of Merchant Marine's relay teams on day one of the championships earned gold and reached the NCAA cut in their event.  The 400 medley relay team of Lindgren, Stone Hewitt (Destin, FL), Hunter Rowan (Matthews, NC), and Joshua McCormick (Granite Bay, CA) shattered the existing Academy and conference record with a mark of 3:22.75.  The blistering fast swim was also a full two seconds under the NCAA "B" cut and should have the relay team in contention for a trip to the NCAA Championships.  The 200 freestyle relay squad of Lindgren, Butt, Alvaro Brice (The Woodlands, TX), and McCormick touched in at 1:23.96 to start off the Landmark Championships with a victory.

USMMA also dominated the 3-meter diving competition as William Porter (Houston, TX), Ryan Mavity (St. Joseph, MI), and Sean Higgins (Anacortes, WA) took first, second, and third, respectively.  Porter scored 526.60 points to win the conference crown as well as make the NCAA qualifying mark and establish a new pool record.  Mavity also met the NCAA standard as the rookie took second-place in his first-ever event at the Landmark Conference Championships.