Seven Mariner Men’s Laxers Earn All-Skyline Praise

Seven Mariner Men’s Laxers Earn All-Skyline Praise

KINGS POINT, N.Y. (May 6, 2019) – The Skyline Conference announced on Monday afternoon the postseason award winners and All-Conference Teams for men's lacrosse and USMMA had seven student-athletes recognized. 

A conference-best six Mariners were selected to the First Team All-Skyline – junior Liam Connors (Bellmore, N.Y.) and senior Jack Renard (San Clemente, Calif.) at attack, senior Michael Rodriguez (Coronado, Calif.) and junior Nick Roros (Northport, N.Y.) at midfield, freshman Jason Aiello (Northport, N.Y.) on defense and senior Charley Hughes (Baltimore, Md.) as a faceoff specialist. Senior Lane Schmidt (North East, Md.) earned a Second Team All-Skyline selection as a short-stick midfielder. 

Connors was named the Skyline Player of the Week a league-best three times this season (March 5 & 11 and April 22). He ranks third in the conference with 1.93 assists per game, tied for third with 4.71 points per game and fifth with 2.79 goals per game. He is also great in transitional defense, ranking seventh in the Skyline with 1.50 caused turnovers per game. 

This is the second time in Renard's career that he has been selected to an All-Conference Team as he landed on the Second Team All-Skyline after the 2018 season. He is the team-leader with 73 points and ranks second in the Skyline with 5.06 points per game, while leading the league and ranking 36th in the country with 2.19 assists per game and his 46 goals are fourth in the conference. He registered his 200th career point this season and finishes his career with 244 points. 

Rodriguez was selected to the Skyline weekly honor roll once this year back on March 18. He ranked third on the Mariners with 50 points on 42 goals and eight assists. His 2.63 goals per game were good for sixth among all Skyline players and he also ranks third on the squad with 50 groundballs. This is the second All-Conference recognition for the senior, as he earned Second Team All-Landmark honors after his freshman year back in 2016. 

Roros earns back-to-back All-Skyline First Team selections after ranking fourth on the Mariners with 44 points on 39 goals and five assists. His 2.44 goals per game ranked seventh among all Skyline players. The junior also scooped up 38 groundballs on the season. 

Aiello had a stellar freshman campaign for USMMA. The strong, physical defender finished the season ranking fourth in the Skyline Conference with 1.77 caused turnovers per game, after totaling 23 throughout 13 games. He was selected as the Skyline Rookie of the Week back on April 1, an accolade rarely given to a defender. Aiello is the only freshman featured on either of the All-Skyline Teams. 

In Skyline Conference games only, no faceoff man had a better winning percentage than Hughes. The senior won an incredible 81.4% of the draws he took (79-of-97), including two games with a perfect win-percentage (20-for-20 vs. Mount St. Vincent and 16-for-16 vs. Purchase). Overall, he ranked third in the conference with a .634 win-percentage and fourth with 4.94 groundballs per game. 

Schmidt is receiving a second straight All-Conference praise for his career, as he was a First Teamer at short-stick midfield after the 2018 season. This year, he has caused seven turnovers and scooped up 16 groundballs this season. Also contributed offensively with three goals. 

For the complete release from the Skyline Conference, click here

Below is the complete list of the 2019 Skyline Postseason Awards and All-Conference Teams. 

Offensive Player of the Year: Matt DeMeo, Maritime
Defensive Player of the Year: Mark Buchner, Maritime
Rookie of the Year: Kevin Buser, Maritime
Coach of the Year: Justin Manjares, Maritime (first season) 

First Team
Liam Connors, A - USMMA
Matt DeMeo, A - Maritime
Jack Renard, A - USMMA
AJ Sandorfi, A - Farmingdale State
Michael Rodriguez, M - USMMA
Nick Roros, M - USMMA
Brett Trodden, M - Maritime
Jason Aiello, D - USMMA
Mark Buchner, D - Maritime
Matthew Martino, D - Mount Saint Mary
Christian Prate, D - St. Joseph's-L.I.
Dan Panzarino, LSM - Farmingdale State
John McMahon, SSDM - Farmingdale State
Kevin Buser, FO - Maritime
Charley Hughes, FO - USMMA
Dan Wood, GK - Farmingdale State 

Second Team
Mike Leake, A - Maritime
Dan Ohrem, A - Purchase
Jake Satterley, A - Farmingdale State
Bryan Keean, M - Maritime
Chris Nielsen, M - St. Joseph's-L.I.
James Ragland, M - Farmingdale State
Brodie Culkin, D - Farmingdale State
Brady Fahy, D - Purchase
Danny Marshall, D - Mount Saint Mary
Brett Boisits, LSM - Maritime
Lane Schmidt, SSDM - USMMA
Declan Canevari, FO - St. Joseph's-L.I.
Christian Brody, GK - Mount Saint Vincent
Justin Weigold, GK - Maritime 

Receive USMMA Men's Lacrosse News Right To Your E-Mail!
If you would like to receive the latest news on the USMMA men's lacrosse team, including all press releases, send an e-mail to Assistant Athletic Director for Communications Joe Guster at with the subject "Men's Lacrosse E-Mails."  

Follow USMMA Athletics On Social Media!
Be sure to follow USMMA Athletics on social media to get up-to-the-minute updates on your favorite teams! Start following today on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube!