Spinnenweber Selected Pitcher Of The Year; Raab Garners Rookie Of The Year Honors; Both Land On First Team Along With Barnes

Spinnenweber Selected Pitcher Of The Year; Raab Garners Rookie Of The Year Honors; Both Land On First Team Along With Barnes

NEW YORK (May 7, 2018) – The Skyline Conference announced the postseason awards and All-Conference Teams for the 2018 baseball season on Monday and three Mariners were honored. Junior Andrew Spinnenweber (Pasadena, Md.) was selected by the Skyline coaches as the Pitcher of the Year, while freshman Joe Raab (Edwardsburg, Mich.) earned Rookie of the Year honors. Both Spinnenweber and Raab, along with senior Michael Barnes (Alexandria, Va.), landed on the First Team All-Skyline. 

This is Spinnenweber's second career All-Conference Accolade, as he was selected Second Team All-Landmark as a freshman in 2016. The right-hander led the conference with 99 strikeouts (the next closest – Raab – was behind by 22 Ks. The junior finished the season tied with Raab for the Skyline-high of seven victories, while his 1.73 ERA ranked second among qualifying starting pitchers. Opposing hitters batted just .166 against the him. Spinnenweber ranks in the top-15 in among all Division III pitchers in five categories – fifth with 99 total strikeouts, sixth with six complete games, seventh with 13.17 strikeouts per nine innings, ninth with 5.32 hits allowed per nine innings and 13th with a 0.90 WHIP. The junior was selected to the Skyline Weekly Honor Roll three times throughout the year. 

Raab registered a 1.93 ERA on the season, which ranked third among qualifying starters in the Skyline, while collecting 77 strikeouts in a conference-best 70 innings pitched.  Like Spinnenweber, he finished the year with a conference-best seven victories. The rookie earned numerous weekly accolades throughout the season, as he was named Skyline Pitcher of the Week twice (with one ECAC Regional Pitcher of the Week in there as well) to go along with two Skyline Rookie of the Week honors. 

This is Barnes' second-straight All-Skyline selection, as he earned Second Team accolades after the 2017 season. The Mariners' centerfielder earned Skyline Player of the Week honors once this season and ended the year ranked in the conference's top-10 in six categories – tied for third with five doubles, tied for fourth with three home runs, tied for fifth with 49 hits, sixth with 31 RBIs, tied for eighth with 14 stolen bases and second with 152 at bats. 

For the complete release from the Skyline Conference, click here

The full 2018 Skyline Baseball Postseason Awards and All-Conference Teams are listed below. 

2018 Skyline Baseball Postseason Honors

* Player of the Year: Jesse Russo, Old Westbury
** Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Spinnenweber, USMMA
*** Rookie of the Year: Joe Raab, USMMA
Coach of the Year: Steve Sosler, Mount Saint Mary (ninth season) 

First Team

C – Jackson Hill, Purchase (So., Brooklyn, N.Y.)
1B – Paul Britt, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Jr., Commack, N.Y.)
2B – Dylan Flynn, Purchase (Fr., Smithtown, N.Y.)
* 2B – Jesse Russo, Old Westbury (Sr., Westbury, N.Y.)
SS – Matt Costleigh, Maritime (Sr., W. Islip, N.Y.)
3B – Tyler Sanderson, St. Joseph's-L.I. (So., Hauppauge, N.Y.)
OF – Michael Barnes, USMMA (Sr., Alexandria, Va.)
OF – John Fogarty, Old Westbury (Jr., Westbury, N.Y.)
OF – Travis Zurita, Maritime (Fr., Ozone Pk., N.Y.)
DH – Stephen Semler, Maritime (Sr., Kirkland, Wash.)
UT – John Condon, Old Westbury (Jr., Oceanside, N.Y.)
SP – David Otero, Jr., Farmingdale State (Sr., Shelton, Conn.)
*** SP – Joe Raab, USMMA (Fr., Edwardsburg, Mich.)
** SP – Andrew Spinnenweber, USMMA (Jr., Pasadena, Md.)
RP – Joshua Cruz, Old Westbury (Fr., Manhattan, N.Y.) 

Second Team

C – Aaron Schiavoni, Maritime (Sr., Sag Harbor, N.Y.)
1B – Chris Introcaso, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Newburgh, N.Y.)
1B – Phil Russo, Maritime (So., Staten Island, N.Y.)
2B – Tyler Schrimpf, Farmingdale State (So., Miller Place, N.Y.)
SS – Anthony Raucci, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Jr., Seaford, N.Y.)
3B – Patrick Wallace, Purchase (So., Manorville, N.Y.)
OF – Matthew Burnett, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Amityville, N.Y.)
OF – Liam Slattery, Old Westbury (Sr., Floral Park, N.Y.)
OF – Shane Sullivan, Maritime (Fr., Stewart Manor, N.Y.)
DH – Vincent Rice, Farmingdale State (So., Massapequa Park, N.Y.)
UT – Domenic Palumbo, Farmingdale State (Sr., Old Bethpage, N.Y.)
SP – Matthew Constantine, Farmingdale State (Jr., W. Babylon, N.Y.)
SP – Anthony D'Ancona, Maritime (Sr., Bronx, N.Y.)
SP – Blake Keenan, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Fishkill, N.Y.)
RP – Ryan Mallon, Farmingdale State (Jr., Deer Park, N.Y.) 

Receive USMMA Baseball News Right To Your E-Mail!
If you would like to receive the latest news on the USMMA baseball team, including all press releases, send an e-mail to Assistant Athletic Director for Communications Joe Guster at gusterj@usmma.edu with the subject "Baseball E-Mails." 

Follow USMMA Athletics On Social Media!
Be sure to follow USMMA Athletics on social media to get up-to-the-minute updates on your favorite teams! Start following today on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube!