Willard Named Landmark WLAX Rookie Of The Year, Simensky Coach Of The Year, Gizzi Lands On First Team

Willard Named Landmark WLAX Rookie Of The Year, Simensky Coach Of The Year, Gizzi Lands On First Team

KINGS POINT, N.Y. (May 5, 2016) – The Landmark Conference announced the postseason awards for Women's Lacrosse on Thursday and for the first time in program history USMMA had three individuals honored. Freshman Meredith Willard (Portland, Maine) was selected by the league head coaches as the Rookie of the Year and earned a spot on the Second Team Attack, Head Coach Kyle Simensky was named the Coach of the Year and freshman Hannah Gizzi (Finksburg, Md.) was chosen as the First Team Goalie.

Willard had a phenomenal breakout season for the Mariners resulting in these Rookie of the Year and Second Team Attack accolades. She set new program records for points, goals and assists not only for a single-season, but for an entire career as well. She led the squad and ranked third in the Landmark with 71 points on 54 goals and 17 assists. Her 54 goals were good for second in the conference. Willard had two nine-point games, one eight-goal game and a five-assist game throughout the year, which were all single-game program records. Her name is in the USMMA record book a program-best 17 times for her performance this year.

Gizzi is right behind Willard with her name in the program record book 16 times. She was selected as the Landmark First Team Goalie after notching a program-best eight victories this season, while also recording a USMMA career-best and conference-high 172 saves. Her .504 save percentage was a Mariner-best for both a single-season and a career, as was her 12.04 goals against average. Gizzi scooped up a career-best 66 groundballs this season, while also setting a new single-game record of 22 saves twice throughout the year.

Simensky had his best season yet as head coach of the Mariners. The program recorded its first ever winning season by going 8-6. The squad set new single-season records in wins (8), winning percentage (.571), fewest losses (6), goals (164), scoring average (11.71) and lowest scoring average against (12.04). The Mariners also scored the most goals ever in a game (20) this year and picked up the program's first shutout. The team was a perfect 8-0 in non-conference games, including a 4-0 mark against future Skyline Conference opponents.

All of the Landmark postseason honors, including the First and Second Team are listed below. For the complete release from the Landmark Conference, click here.

2016 Landmark Conference Women's Lacrosse Postseason Honors
Player of the Year: Alexis Bosilovic, Catholic
Rookie of the Year: Meredith Willard, USMMA
Coach of the Year: Kyle Simensky, USMMA

All-Landmark Conference First Team
Laura Dunn, Catholic
Nicolette Crisalli, Catholic
Meghan Kerr, Scranton
Annie McElaney, Susquehanna

Alexis Bosilovic, Catholic
Clair Schmitzer, Catholic
Juliana Strazulo, Drew
JoJo Franklin, Goucher
Erin Allen, Scranton

Alexis Martin, Catholic
Kat Carnevale,   Goucher
Zoe Lycett, Susquehanna

Hannah Gizzi, USMMA

All-Landmark Conference Second Team
Morgan Mason, Drew
Jessica Borucki, Goucher
Meredith Williard, USMMA

Anna Stumme, Catholic
Maddie Spiess, Drew
Katie Thompson, Elizabethtown
Becky McHugh, Susquehanna

Erin Dugan, Catholic
Allison Kreisinger, Drew
Bridget Gallaher, Scranton
Brooke Burnett, Susquehanna
Shannon Kinney, Susquehanna

Bridget Den Boer, Goucher

Follow USMMA Athletics On Social Media!
Be sure to follow USMMA Athletics on social media to get up-to-the-minute updates on your favorite teams! Start following today on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.