Coll And Sawicki Earn Landmark First Team Honors; Rodriguez Lands On Second Team

Coll And Sawicki Earn Landmark First Team Honors; Rodriguez Lands On Second Team

KINGS POINT, N.Y. (May 3, 2016) – On Tuesday, the Landmark Conference announced the postseason honors for men's lacrosse and three USMMA student-athletes were selected to the All-Conference Teams by the league's head coaches. Sophomore Pat Coll (Clifton Park, N.Y.) and senior Gus Sawicki (Louisville, Colo.) were picked to the First Team All-Landmark, while freshman Michael Rodriguez (Coronado, Calif.) landed on the Second Team.

Coll had a sensational sophomore season at attack for the Mariners. He led the team and the Landmark Conference in goals (59) and points (71), and his 4.21 goals per game currently rank him third in the nation, while his 5.07 points per game are 12th best among all Division III players. He also dished out 12 assists over the 14 games this season. Coll's production this year also ranks in the Top 5 in program history for a single season. His 59 goals is third-best in USMMA history, while his 71 points ranks fifth. Additionally, his 10 man-up goals this year ties for the program best.

This is the third straight season that Sawicki has been selected to an All-Landmark Team. He was on the Second Team Defense each of the two prior seasons before the First Team nod this year. An integral part of the Mariner starting defense, the senior recorded 24 groundballs and 23 caused turnovers in 2016. With the 23 CTs this season, Sawicki became the USMMA program record holder with 78 caused turnovers in his career.

Rodriguez was named to the All-Landmark Second Team Midfield after he led the Mariner middies and ranked fourth on the team with 23 points on 19 goals and four assists. Five of his goals came on man-up opportunities. He also scooped up 22 groundballs over 13 games this season and caused opponents to turn the ball over six separate times throughout the year.

All of the Landmark postseason honors, including the First and Second Team are listed below. For the complete release from the Landmark Conference, click here.

2016 Landmark Conference Men's Lacrosse Postseason Honors

Player of the Year: Corrie Van Haasteren, Susquehanna
Rookie of the Year: Dylan Abplanalp, Susquehanna
Coach of the Year: Stewart Moan, Susquehanna

All-Landmark Conference First Team
Tim Keith, Catholic
Joe Clark, Elizabethtown
Pat Coll, USMMA

Victor Licata, Catholic
Steven Cola, Drew
Mike Specht, Elizabethtown
Alec Mikrut, Scranton

Long-Stick Midfield:
Corrie Van Haasteren, Susquehanna

Short-Stick Defensive Midfield:
Brad Elkin, Scranton

Face-Off Specialist:
Adam Drury, Scranton

Mike Tangredi, Elizabethtown
Kade MacGregor, Susquehanna
Gus Sawicki, USMMA

Harrison Holak, Catholic

All-Landmark Conference Second Team
Ryan D'Alessandro, Drew
Owen Demmerly, Goucher
Alec Tzaneteas, Susquehanna

Bennett Bradley, Catholic
Michael Morgan, Goucher
Michael Rodriguez, USMMA

Long-Stick Midfield:
Jeremy Klipple, Elizabethtown

Short-Stick Defensive Midfield:
Nick Specht, Elizabethtown

Face-Off Specialist:
Matt Michalski, Catholic

Michael Lloyd, Drew
Andrew Foster, Goucher
Blake Russell, Goucher

Nicholas McKaba, Scranton

Follow USMMA Athletics On Social Media!
Be sure to follow USMMA Athletics on social media to get up-to-the-minute updates on your favorite teams! Start following today on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.