Text-Only Website
Body Background

Whitenack Named Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year; Seven Mariners Earn All-Landmark Honors

Complete Landmark Conference Release

Chris Whitenack (East Meadow, NY) has been tabbed the Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year following a superb 2014 season in which he leads the nation in face-off winning percentage.  Whitenack also earned a spot on the All-Landmark Conference First-Team after posting a 76.3% mark at the face-off "X", including an 80.7 percentage against conference opposition.  Six Mariners earned a place on the All-Landmark Conference Second-Team, including: Geoff Harty (Chicago, IL), Phil Walker (Falmouth, MA), Troy Smith (Deer Park, TX), Ray Waters (Sayville, NY), Kyle Sammis (Dix Hills, NY), and Gus Sawicki (Louisville, CO).

Harty racked up a Landmark Conference leading 36 goals and 56 points to lead the Mariner offense while Smith was third in the league with 31 goals.  Walker also cracked the conference's top-five in scoring with 27 points in his senior season.  Waters earned his spot on the second-team midfield with a solid season that included ten assists from his position.  Sawicki ranked third in the Landmark Conference with 28 caused turnovers while Sammis secured his place on the All-Landmark squad as the long-stick midfielder.