Reed Buck Named Third Team All-Metropolitan

Reed Buck Named Third Team All-Metropolitan

KINGS POINT, NY -- The Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association has named United States Merchant Marine Academy sophomore forward Reed Buck to the All-Metropolitan Third Team.

Buck's honors this season have already included being named Landmark Conference Player of the Year, First Team All-Conference, and Second Team All-Region.  His 495 points led all scorers in the Landmark Conference for the 2011-12 season. 

"He's one of the best players no one knows about," said Danny Nee, Head Coach of the Men's Basketball Team at the United States Merchant Marine Academy.  "He's been the centerpiece of our offense all season."

The news release announcing the teams is included below:



NEW YORK --- The 2011-12 All-Met Division III men's college basketball team,
announced Wednesday by the Met Basketball Writers Assn.

FIRST TEAM: A.J. Matthews, Farmingdale, 7-0, jr, F, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Lance Brown,
Wm. Paterson, 6-4, jr, G-F, Teaneck, N.J.; DaQuan Brooks, Western Connecticut State,
5-10, sr, G, Atlanta; T.J. Tibbs, Staten Island, 5-10, sr, G, Staten Island; Andy Stein,
NYU, 6-8, sr, C, Bethlehem, Pa.; Winston Douglas, Medgar Evers, 6-4, jr, F, Hempstead,

SECOND TEAM: Chris Jimenez, St. Joseph's-LI, 6-0, sr, G, Huntington Station, N.Y.;
Andrew August, Montclair, 6-7, sr, F, Bridgewater, N.J.; Corey Chandler, Wm. Paterson,
6-2, jr, G, Newark, N.J.; Carlos Valdez, Mount St. Mary, 6-7, sr, F, Carolina, P.R.;
Jordan Young, Staten Island, 6-5, sr, F-C, Asbury Park, N.J.; Jerome Alexander, John
Jay, 6-4, sr, G-F, Brooklyn, N.Y.

THIRD TEAM: Tyshawn Russell, Brooklyn, 5-11, sr, G, Jamaica, N.Y.; Simon Smith,
Stevens, 6-5, sr, F, Cranford, N.J.; Reed Buck, USMMA, 6-5, so, F, Lawrenceville, GA.;
Sheldon Jones, Stevens, 6-1, jr, G, Queens, N.Y.; Amil John, Brooklyn, 5-10, sr, G,
Brooklyn, N.Y.; Chris Beauchamp, Baruch, 6-1, sr, G-F, Glendale, N.Y.; Adam Katz,
FDU-Florham, 5-8, sr, G, Wharton, N.J.

Player of the year: A.J. Matthews, Farmingdale.
Coach of the year: Jose Rebimbas, Wm. Paterson