USMMA Announces 2013-14 Athletic Award Winners; Hartmann and Olsen Receive Top Nods

USMMA Announces 2013-14 Athletic Award Winners; Hartmann and Olsen Receive Top Nods

The U.S. Merchant Marine Academy Department of Physical Education and Athletics has announced that Warren Hartmann is the 2014 winner of the Giles C. Stedman Trophy and Emily Olsen is the recipient of the Julie A. Berke Trophy, the highest athletic awards bestowed upon a graduating male and female Midshipman.  James Hicks and Geri Villan were named the Julie A. Berke Rookies of the Year as Interim Head Coach David Muchnick was tabbed the Dr. Stephen “Bill” Omeltchenko Coach of the Year. 

Hartmann rewrote the USMMA baseball record book in his four seasons at the Academy.  He holds the Mariners all-time records for career hits, doubles, stolen bases, and runs scored.  Hartmann was a Third-Team All-American in his senior season and was the Landmark Conference Player of the Year as well as an All-Region selection as a junior.

The Mariners earned three straight trips to the Landmark Conference tournament with Hartmann as their starting second baseman.  In 2013, the same year Hartmann was named league MVP, USMMA captured its first share of the Landmark Conference regular season championship.  Hartmann was a career .391 hitter and the second USMMA baseball player to be named an All-American.

“Warren was a tremendous player all four years of his career,” said USMMA Head Coach Michael Notebaert.  “He was a stabilizing force in our lineup and he was one of the primary reasons we have had our recent success.  He has a lot of talent but his work ethic and determination to always improve are what drove his development.  I am truly humbled and honored that the chose to play for me here at the Academy.”

Olsen’s name will be etched on the Julie A. Berke Trophy after a stellar in the pool as a member of the USMMA swimming & diving team.  She leaves the USMMA holding eight Academy records, two individual and six relay.  Olsen finished in the top-three of a Landmark Conference Championship event on four different occasions.

The women’s swimming & diving team moved up the Landmark rankings during Olsen’s tenure as the team finished third in 2013.  Olsen touched the wall first in 54 races in her four-year career and made 46 Landmark Conference finals.  She was also named “Mariner of the Meet” five-times and played a significant role in the academic achievements of the women’s swimming & diving team.

“Our team is proud of Emily for winning this prestigious award,” said Head Coach Sean Tedesco.  “She was an integral member of our team and someone we could count on for all four years.  Winning this award signifies how good of an athlete and teammate Emily was throughout her career.”    

Hicks, a first-year tennis player, earned the nod as the Academy’s male rookie of the year after posting a 9-3 record as the #1 singles player for the Mariners.  Villan grabs the women’s rookie of the year honor as a member of the men’s tennis team.  The freshman posted a 6-5 record against male competition and along with Hicks was a primary reason for the team’s dramatic improvement in 2014.

Muchnick claims the Dr. Stephen “Bill” Omeltchenko Coach of the Year Award after taking over the men’s basketball team mid-season.   Merchant Marine secured a spot in the Landmark Conference Tournament for the second straight year.  Kelly Hodges of the USMMA volleyball team will receive the Herman Berke Athletic Leadership Award.

Danny Collins of baseball and Alexandra Winfree of both women’s lacrosse and women’s basketball earned the Thomas LeBlanc and Julie A. Berke Achievement Awards, respectively.  The awards are presented to the outstanding scholar-athletes in the senior class who have also contributed in the athletic arena.  As a team the offshore sailing and men’s cross country squads earned the Academic Dean’s Award, given to the small and large teams with the highest cumulative grade point average.  The “Most Improved” award marking the largest increase from one academic season to the next was secured by the men’s cross country team.

Matthew Morse of football and Shannen Dunn of women’s lacrosse will be presented with the ECAC Medal of Merit.  The Merit Medal is given to the midshipmen who have demonstrated excellence in athletics while maintaining high academic standards.  Gary Poulin of men’s soccer and Sara Ellenberger of women’s basketball were named the ECAC Robbins Scholar-Athlete winners.  In order to win this award, an athlete must have a 3.2 cumulative GPA and play a significant role in contributing to their chosen team.

The Captain Perry Walter Team Mentor Award, which is presented to the team mentor who best exemplifies the traits exhibited by Captain Perry Walter, will go Victoria Schopflin for her work with the women’s lacrosse team.  Captain Walter was known for his guidance and dedication in academics, athletics, and regimental affairs for Midshipmen-Athletes. Sue Petersen Lubow, former Director of Physical Education and Athletics, is this year’s recipient of the Captain James Liebertz Memorial Award.   James Liebertz served as Athletics Director from 1950-72 and this award is given by the Athletic Director to someone who exemplifies the same traits of dedication, perseverance, enthusiasm and love for USMMA Athletics.